Newsroom‎ > ‎News Archive‎ > ‎

NMAGO NEWS RELEASE Friday, March 21, 2014

posted May 2, 2014, 8:37 AM by Zack Freeman   [ updated May 2, 2014, 8:42 AM ]


Attorney General Gary K. King

Friday, March 21, 2014

CONTACT:  Phil Sisneros 505-222-9174 or Lynn Southard  505-222-9048

AG King’s Chief Deputy Wins Top Lawyer Award

(SANTA FE)---The New Mexico Attorney General’s Office is proud to announce that one of our own, Chief Deputy Attorney General Albert J. Lama, has been named the Public Lawyer of the Year by the Public Law Section of the State Bar.

“Al is recognized throughout the country for his quality work on behalf of the citizens of New Mexico and the United States. His quality management is the cornerstone of the great work the Attorney General's office has been doing for many years,” said Attorney General Gary King.

The award is in recognition of a lawyer’s distinguished career in public service.  Mr. Lama has been in government law practice for 25 years, the last seven-and-a-half as AG King’s Chief Deputy.

He received his Juris Doctor degree from the Creighton University School of Law in Omaha, Nebraska and his B.A. in English from the University of Arizona in Tucson, Arizona.  He began his public law career as staff counsel to the New Mexico Department of Public Safety.  In December 1990, he began working as an Assistant Attorney General for New Mexico Attorney General Tom Udall.  In 1999, he was appointed Civil Division Director by Attorney General Patricia Madrid. In 2004, Lama was appointed Chief Hearing Officer for the New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department.  Lama returned to the New Mexico Attorney General’s office in early 2007.

Lama is a member of the State Bar of New Mexico, Federal District Court, New Mexico and served as Past President of the Public Law Section of the New Mexico State Bar.  He also served a four year term on the state Judicial Standards Commission.  Additionally, he is a former U. S. Delegate to South Korea and the Republic of Turkey for the American Council of Young Political Leaders.

The public award ceremony is scheduled May 1st, at 4pm, in the Capitol Rotunda.