This website cannot be viewed properly using this version of Internet Explorer.

Please use a modern browser such as Chrome or update to a stable, safer version of Internet Explorer.

Download Chrome (Made by Google)
Update Internet Explorer (Made by Microsoft)

The Environmental Protection Division works to protect, preserve, and enhance New Mexico’s environment, water, and natural resources through litigation and cooperative efforts with stakeholders.  We represent the interests of New Mexico’s residential and small business consumers in matters of gas, electric, and telecommunications regulation.

Water is New Mexico’s most valuable resource. Using New Mexico’s Constitution, statutes and interstate compacts as our guide, the Division represents the State of New Mexico and its officials in cases thought to be of particular legal significance to New Mexico. In addition, the Division provides legal advice to the Office of the State Engineer and the Interstate Stream Commission, and it monitors litigation carried out by attorneys working for those agencies who have been granted special commissions by the Attorney General to represent the State of New Mexico.

Protection of New Mexico’s scenic and fragile environment is a priority of the Attorney General’s Office. The Division works closely with law enforcement, other state agencies, and diverse stakeholders to safeguard our natural resources, recover compensation for damages to our environment, and prosecute businesses and individuals who violate our environmental protection laws.

The Division also actively pursues the Attorney General’s responsibility to represent residential and small business utility consumers by participating in electric, gas, and telecommunications cases that impact large numbers of New Mexicans. The cases may be a rulemaking, a rate case, an effort by a utility to be deregulated, or one of many other issues that affect utility consumers. Additionally, the Division is authorized to represent the State of New Mexico in utility matters before the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) and the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC).